29 July 2016
By Duane Ranger

Papakura horseman Jay Abernethy has had his most successful year as a trainer, conditioning 32 winners – five more than his previous best he achieved in 2013-2014.
The 33-year-old also shone brightly at Cambridge Raceway this season and was recently named Harness Racing Waikato’s leading trainer. Two of his team Silver Stream and Our Southern Man also received recognition.
HRW’s Racing manager, Kerry Wells, said five horses won three races at Cambridge during 2015-2016. Four won four races. Silver Stream won five races and the David Marshall trained Sarah Lindenny won six races.
“The winner of the Dunstan Nutrition $10,000 Owner-Trainer promotion for the season was Sarah Lindenny, who receives $7,000 (split $4k to owner & $3k to trainer) of Dunstan product. Silver Stream’s trainer will receive $2000 worth of Dunstan product while last year’s winner Our Southern Man will also receive $1,000 worth of the product as well,” Wells said.
Looking back at 2015-2016 Wells said Club bonuses paid throughout the year added to the winner’s stake equalled $68,000.
He said 37 horses had their winner’s stake increased by $1,500 and five horses had their winner’s stake increased by $2,500.
When asked to comment about other highlights of the season Wells said:
“We recently had a debrief of this year’s Jewels and have been advised that 2018 will be held at Cambridge.
“The clubs’ AGM is scheduled for Tuesday November 15 at 7.15pm in Members Lounge. Obviously next week (August 4) will be interesting regards race fields as it is the first meeting to be carded under the new points handicapping system.
“I understand Andrew Grant is relocating to Morrinsville training track at Scott Reserve and will work upwards of 10 horses. This will increase horse population on track to around 70,” Wells said.
Winners at Cambridge Raceway this season were:
NRM Leading Trainer: 1st Jay Abernethy, 2nd Steve Telfer/Chris Garlick, 3rd Sean McCaffrey/Ross Paynter.
Commins Plumbing Leading UDR Driver (30 or more drives):
1st Scott Phelan, 2nd David Butcher, 3rd Tony Herlihy.
Garrards Leading Junior Driver:
1st Kyle Marshall, 2nd Sean Grayling, 3rd Andre Poutama.
Barry & Jill Gordon leading Trainer of Trotters:
1st Sean McCaffrey/Ross Paynter, 2nd David Marshall, 3rd Jay Abernethy.
The Clubhouse Sportsbar Driver of Trotters:
1st Kyle Marshall, 2nd Todd Mitchell, 3rd Todd MacFarlane.

Most Meritorious Performance of the Year (To be decided by vote).